Tough Mudder Mid-Atlantic

According to the Tough Mudder website, “Tough Mudder is possible the toughest event on the planet.”  After successful completing my first tough mudder I can completely I agree!

I had been debating doing Tough Mudder for some time now and after much consideration, I signed up.  I couldn’t pass up the opportunity to do Tough Mudder Mid-Atlantic because it was the first Tough Mudder to take place in two different states.  This year Mudder took place on a shooting range and training facility in Gerrardstown, West Virginia.

After completing my first half marathon a month earlier, I was optimistic about the event.  Physically I knew I could do it, but I knew that I would have to overcome my fear of heights. I had signed up for the event with a team of 17 and we had all agreed to help each other out.  With a strong group, I knew that not only would we complete Mudder, but we would have a blast doing it.  Tough Mudder is all about camaraderie and helping fellow mudders out along the way.

Meet Team Muddy!

164198_4652528991109_443179937_n (1)

577501_4689537596301_1075395419_n

Looking back on the event, I had fun.  During the event, I have never felt so cold.  The biggest con was the weather, it was cold and windy.  Towards the end of the event my body was shaking because I was so cold.  Despite the cold and the water events, the team pushed through and we finished.  It felt so amazing to complete the event and earn my headband.

IMG_3610

Immediately after we finished I told myself this would be my first and last one, the next day our team had made plans for next year.

I have to say, Tough Mudder does an amazing job marketing their event.  They create this hype that the event is the toughest event on the planet so that you want to do it.  One of the reasons I signed up, was to prove that I was able to complete this tough event.  They make it sound so grueling that you are intrigued to sign up just to see what it’s really like.  Once the event is over you can say, “I completed Tough Mudder” and that is a big deal.

Tough Mudder also posts awesome pictures on Facebook and they create cool videos.  When looking though the Facebook albums, their images and videos really showcase how tough the event is.  Right after the event I couldn’t wait to tell my social network (free digital marketing right there).  They really know what they are doing, props to the Tough Mudder team!

I am a Social Media Manager/Analyst working in San Francisco. Before moving to San Francisco, I lived in Washington, DC and was working in the health field. For over 4 years, I have developed and implemented marketing strategies and campaigns to drive social growth.

Tagged with: , ,
Posted in Digital Media Fun

Leave a Reply

Archives
May 2013
M T W T F S S
« Apr    
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  
