4 Tips to get More Twitter Followers

Everyone wants more twitter followers.  Here are some suggestions to help grow your fan base, for both your personal profile and your brand profile.

Share Photos

According to Social Media Today, photos outperform text posts by 91%.  Try sharing photos that you think are interesting and that your fans will want to share or click.   With a new mobile update, the twitter mobile apps and twitter.com now show you more content in expanded tweets.  Without even having to click your image link, users will now have a better chance of seeing your image when consuming your tweet via mobile.

Here is an example of one of my most clicked tweets.  I used an infographic and I tied it with sleep awareness month.

2013-04-13_1053

Connect with Fans

Try and engage your followers in your conversations.  If you want your fans to engage with your page, you have to give them a small call to action.  Ask them to retweet or reply to your tweets.  One of my favorite ways to get users engaged in my tweets is to ask a short question in the beginning of my tweet.  Give them a reason to connect with you.

Show your fans you care and make sure you engage with them, twitter is not a one way street.  If you want users to share your tweets, you need to share their content too.  It is important to respond to your fans questions and retweet content that you like or think is relevant.  Favoriting your followers tweets is another easy way to connect with them.  If a brand RTs my tweets or favorites one of my tweets, I am much more likely to share their content on my page.

Follower influencers

With the fast pace of twitter, more and more new people are sharing their thoughts every day.  Spend some time and follow people who are in your industry and who you think are interesting.  Use the trends tool as well as the search bar to find some great influencers.

It’s pretty simple, if you follow someone. they just might follow you back.  Personally when a brand follow me, I follow them right back.  I get excited knowing a brand wants to follow me.

Utilize #Hashtags

It is important to tag your contently wisely because this makes your tweets easier to find.  Hashtags not only categorize your content, but it allows users to easily find previous tweets.   If you are sending out what you think is a great tweet, add 1-2 hashtags to your post so users can find your tweets.  I enjoy tagging my tweets because I want to reach as many people as possible.  When I tag my content, I find that my reach and follower count goes up.

I am a Social Media Manager/Analyst working in San Francisco. Before moving to San Francisco, I lived in Washington, DC and was working in the health field. For over 4 years, I have developed and implemented marketing strategies and campaigns to drive social growth.

Tagged with: , , ,
Posted in Twitter

Leave a Reply

Archives
April 2013
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  
